Orion Stars

Orion Stars 26th January

9781473205949
£18.99 TPB
Pub 1st Feb

STOP PRESS

Ursula Le Guin, one of the greatest – if not the greatest – contemporary SF and Fantasy author, died yesterday (24th Jan) at the age of 88. A Gollancz author from 1971 she won every award along the way and received acclaim from critics and readers alike.

Some of the tributes paid to her yesterday:

‘A colossus of literature, a radical, a trailblazer’ – China Miéville

‘I’m glad that Ursula lived long enough to see her achievements and influence acknowledged by the literary establishment, albeit belatedly.  She was a crafter of fierce, focused, fertile dreams’ – David Mitchell

‘One of the greats, a literary icon’ – Stephen King

‘The deepest and smartest of writers’ – Neil Gaiman

‘We can’t call Ursula K. Le Guin back from the land of the unchanging stars, but happily she left us her multifaceted work, her hard-earned wisdom and her fundamental optimism. Her sane, smart, crafty and lyrical voice is more necessary now than ever.  For it, and for her, we should be thankful’ – Margaret Atwood 

9781473223677 (Tie-in)
£8.99 PB
Pub 1st Feb

ALTERED CARBON | Richard Morgan

On 2nd February Netflix release one of their most ambitious projects to date, the Scifi thriller ALTERED CARBON based on the book of the same name by Richard Morgan. Starring Joel Kinnaman and directed by Miguel Sapochnik (the director of Game of Thrones’ Battle of the Bastards) this is a noir future for fans of Blade Runner and Westworld.  Watch the trailer here (already viewed 2.5 million times)

 

 

9781409175070
£7.99 PB
Pub 28th Dec

BESTSELLERS

Happy | Fearne Cotton

No. 2 in Paperback Non-Fiction Bestseller List

 

 

 

9781409176923
£18.99 HB
Pub 28th Dec

CALM | Fearne Cotton

No. 7 in Hardback Non-Fiction Bestseller List

Telegraph – interview (4th Feb)
Stella – interview (4th Feb)
ITV1 LORRAINE – interview (10th Jan)
BBC2 STEVE WRIGHT – interview (15th Jan)
BBC Radio London – interview (15th Jan)
CALM by FEARNE COTTON was reviewed in the weekend edition of the I PAPER
THE I (30 Dec) review
SUNDAY INDEPENDENT (Jan 2018) interview
THE I (Jan 2018) interview
Sunday Post – interview (14th Jan)
MUMSNET (Jan 2018) interview
SHEERLUXE (Jan 2018) interview
AUDIBLE (Jan 2018) interview

9781409171911
£25.00 HB
Pub 2nd Nov

OUT NOW

THE HAIRY BIKERS’ MEDITERRANEAN ADVENTURE | The Hairy Bikers

Tie-in TV series from 4th January 2018 @ 8pm and repeated on Saturday at midday, 6 part series on BBC2

 

 

 

9781409159599
£16.99 HB
Pub 11th Jan

COMING HOME TO ISLAND HOUSE | Erica James

Full page advertising in Woman & Home (4th Jan) and Prima (1st Jan) magazines, reaching 500,000 women across one month
2 weeks of Facebook advertising targeting women 40-65+, with video advertising, static images and multiple creative messaging reaching fans of Erica and other similar authors, as well as Home & gardens, country life, and family interests

 

 

9781409172024
£12.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

OUT THIS WEEK

FEAR | Dirk Kurbjuweit

The Most Reviewed Thriller of 2018 is NOW AVAILABLE

DAILY TELEGRAPH: “His real achievement, however, is in the artful arrangement of his experiences as a basis for reflections – on free will, marriage, parenthood and how the middle classes ‘other’ the poor and the damaged – that make the book as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping

BBC RADIO 4: OPEN BOOK: profile interview to run on 28th Jan
THE OBSERVER: major profile interview (14th Jan) – “The novels asks what happens when those support systems that we presume underpin our society fail us.  Tiberius is wonderfully sinister.. You’ll never see your neighbours in the same light again

9781409147558
£7.99 PB
Pub 25th Jan

THE LATE SHOW | Michael Connelly

180 National Rail 4 sheets live for two weeks from publication.
Animated digital six sheets in key high traffic train stations across the UK, including key hubs such as Waterloo and Gatwick Airport train station.
A handful of carefully placed high-impact 48 sheet adverts will complement our 4 sheets and digital 6 sheets.
To reach a broad spectrum of readers online we will also be running multiple bursts of Facebook advertising.
Mumsnet – A sponsored competition will feature on the competition and books homepages, reaching 35k unique users on the site. The giveaway will also be promoted in the Mumsnet competition newsletter, which has 78k subscribers

9781474606516
£14.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

FROM HERE TO ETERNITY | Caitlin Doughty

“From Indonesia to Mexico and all points in between, Doughty talks to a wide array of professionals, handling the topic with curiosity, frankness and no small amount of humour.” Big Issue

FROM HERE TO ETERNITY by CAITLIN DOUGHTY was reviewed in MAIL ON SUNDAY EVENT – “fascinating, thought-provoking and – who would have guessed? – sometimes funny. Put it on your bucket list.”
THE SUNDAY TIMES TRAVEL MAGAZINE also ran a short feature of some of the world practices featured in the book with a credit
PRESS ASSOCIATION (17th January) – review syndicated across regional newspapers
OBSERVER (21st January) – review
IRISH TIMES (date tbc on pub) – review
CATHOLIC HERALD (date tbc on pub) – review
TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT (date tbc on pub) – review
NME (26th January) – inclusion on Things We Like page
WANDERLUST (February issue) – review “A study in cultures, places and profound moments – and with a necessary slice of morbid humour too
GEOGRAPHICAL (February issue, out mid-January) – review
THE POOL (date tbc on pub) – Long Read article by Caitlin about how women a reclaiming the funeral industry

9781474601511
£16.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

HEAL ME | Julia Buckley

‘Truly fascinating . . . a searingly honest first-hand account of Buckley’s journey, both spiritual and physical, and an insightful, deeply researched story of pain from the multiple perspectives of medical science, psychology and faith. An absolute must-read on the subject, what’s laid bare here about our understanding of and attitudes to chronic pain is alternatively sobering and inflammatory’ THE INDEPENDENT

WOMAN’S HOUR, BBC RADIO 4 (22 Jan) – interview, listen here
5 LIVE DAILY, BBC RADIO 5 LIVE (22 Jan) – interview
TALK RADIO EUROPE (22 Jan) – interview
BBC RADIO OXFORD (18 Jan) – interview
SUNDAY TELEGRAPH (21 Jan) – 2-page spread in Sunday supplement
EVENING STANDARD (week of 22 Jan or 29 Jan, date tbc) – launching a campaign on pain medication linked to the book
SUNDAY TIMES (28 Jan) – 1-page travel feature
SUNDAY EXPRESS, S MAGAZINE (11 Feb) – 4-page feature
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELLER (out 7 Feb) – full-page feature
CORNWALL TODAY (out mid-Feb) – 4-page feature
I PAPER (date tbc) – 2-page feature
THE SUN (date tbc) – feature
MAIL ON SUNDAY (date tbc) – feature
Reviews confirmed in: THE OBSERVER, EVENING STANDARD, I PAPER, INDEPENDENT, THE SUN, THE CANARY
LONDON MARATHON official podcast (w/c 22 Jan) – interview
INDEPENDENT (22 Jan and 25 Jan) – extract and opinion piece
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS TIMES (week of 22 Jan or 29 Jan, date tbc) – interview

9781409176268
£12.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

COMING SOON

HOW TO BREAK UP WITH YOUR PHONE | Catherine Price

Major serial in the INSPIRE section of the DAILY MAIL, extracts will be running on Monday 22nd and Monday 29th January
DAILY TELEGRAPH reviewed the book in their ‘self-help’ round up on 6th January
GRAZIA highlighted the book as the Number 1 trend for 2018 on 2nd January
ELLE are running a major feature on the book in the March issue
MARIE CLAIRE are running a major feature on the book in the March issue
FINANCIAL TIMES are reviewing and discussing the book as part of their monthly podcast series in February

9781409172697
£20.00 HB
Pub 8th Feb

LIVING THE LIFE MORE FABULOUS | Tricia Cusden

MAIL ON SUNDAY (21 Jan) – serialisation in new lifestyle supplement, LIFE
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING (March issue) – interview
SYLVA (TBC) – interview to tie-in with Oxford Lit Fest
WOMAN’S WAY (TBC) – interview
MY WEEKLY – (TBC) strong interest
GRANSNET (Feb TBC) – Facebook Live and book review
LOOSE WOMEN and LORRAINE (TBC)
BBC LONDON (TBC) – interview with Jo Good or Vanessa Feltz

9781409174530
£18.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

SATURDAY BLOODY SATURDAY | Alastair Campbell and Paul Fletcher

Interview in Major newspaper (confidential) (4 Feb)
CHANNEL 4’s SUNDAY BRUNCH (4 Feb)
BBC1’s BBC BREAKFAST (7 Feb)
TALK SPORT (7 Feb)
TALK RADIO (7 Feb)
TODAY WITH SEAN O’ROURKE (7 Feb)
SKY NEWS TONIGHT (8 Feb)
BBC RADIO 5 LIVE ADRIAN CHILES (9 Feb)
SOCCER AM (10 Feb)
ITV1’s ROBERT PESTON (11 Feb)
BBC RADIO 5 LIVE GARRY RICHARDSON SHOW
THE GUARDIAN, THE I, PRIVATE EYE – reviews

9781474605854
£14.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

RESTLESS SOULS | Dan Sheehan

‘At turns comedic, at turns literary, at turns thriller, at turns philosophical, it never stops being a page-turner’ Colum McCann

Guardian- Review confirmed (date tbc)
Observer- Review (22nd Jan) – ‘An enjoyable debut novel…. Sheehan adeptly pierces the nature of lasting friendship’
Daily Express- Review confirmed (date tbc)
Daily Mail – Review confirmed (date tbc)
Irish Sunday Times- Review (10th Feb)
Irish Sunday Independent- Review (date tbc)
Image Magazine -Review (February)
Gloss Magazine- Interview (February)
Woman’s Way- Review (22nd Jan)
Irish Examiner- Interview (debut slot)- Date tbc
Irish Country Magazine- Review (March issue)
RTE Radio 1, Arena- Interview (8th February)

9781409172260
£14.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

WE OWN THE SKY | Luke Allnutt

iNews – 2018 top ten debut: http://bit.ly/2AGidsL (8th Jan)
GUARDIAN FAMILY – feature by Luke, 8th February
WOMEN’S WAY – interview with Luke, 8th February
THE SUN – review, 8th February
MY WEEKLY – review, 8th February
THE SUNDAY EXPRESS – review, 8th February
CLOSER – review, (date TBC)
NEWBOOKS – review and feature (date TBC)
PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH – review, 8th February
GRAZIA – review, (TBC)
MIRROR – review, (TBC)
THEN – review, (TBC)
OBSERVER – (TBC)
BBC RADIO FIVE LIVE PHIL WILLIAMS SHOW (TBC)
BLOG TOUR – with THE Facebook Book Club for 14 days (pre and post-publication)

REVIEWS ETC.

JORDAN BOURKE, author of OUR KOREAN KITCHEN, will be a guest on RADIO 4’s KITCHEN CABINET this Saturday (27th Jan) talking about Korean food: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09p2kf1

ROBICHEAUX by JAMES LEE BURKE was included in the crime book round-up in COUNTRY LIFE magazine, and a review ran in the INDEPENDENT i on Friday (19th Jan)