Orion Stars

Orion Stars 2nd February

9781409147558
£7.99 PB
Pub 25th Jan

BESTSELLERS

THE LATE SHOW by Michael Connelly

No. 4 in Paperback Fiction Bestseller List

180 National Rail 4 sheets live for two weeks from publication
Animated digital six sheets in key high traffic train stations across the UK, including key hubs such as Waterloo and Gatwick Airport train station
A handful of carefully placed high-impact 48 sheet adverts will complement our 4 sheets and digital 6 sheets
To reach a broad spectrum of readers online we will also be running multiple bursts of Facebook advertising
Mumsnet – A sponsored competition will feature on the competition and books homepages, reaching 35k unique users on the site. The giveaway will also be promoted in the Mumsnet competition newsletter, which has 78k subscribers

9781409175070
£7.99 PB
Pub 28th Dec

Happy | Fearne Cotton

No. 3 in Paperback Non-Fiction Bestseller List

 

 

 

9781409176923
£18.99 HB
Pub 28th Dec

CALM | Fearne Cotton

No. 9  in Hardback Non-Fiction Bestseller List

Telegraph – interview (4th Feb)
Stella – interview (4th Feb)
ITV1 LORRAINE – interview (10th Jan)
BBC2 STEVE WRIGHT – interview (15th Jan)
BBC Radio London – interview (15th Jan)
CALM by FEARNE COTTON was reviewed in the weekend edition of the I PAPER
THE I (30 Dec) review
SUNDAY INDEPENDENT (Jan 2018) interview
THE I (Jan 2018) interview
Sunday Post – interview (14th Jan)
MUMSNET (Jan 2018) interview
SHEERLUXE (Jan 2018) interview
AUDIBLE (Jan 2018) interview

9781473223677 (Tie-in)
£8.99 PB
Pub 1st Feb

STOP PRESS

ALTERED CARBON | Richard Morgan

On 2nd February Netflix release one of their most ambitious projects to date, the Scifi thriller ALTERED CARBON based on the book of the same name by Richard Morgan. Starring Joel Kinnaman and directed by Miguel Sapochnik (the director of Game of Thrones’ Battle of the Bastards) this is a noir future for fans of Blade Runner and Westworld.  Watch the trailer here (already viewed 2.5 million times)

ALTERED CARBON (along with RICHARD MORGAN book adaption) featured in TV highlights for THE OBSERVER
Pick of the Week in the FINANCIAL TIMES.
Interview with Joel Kinnaman and (5 star) review of Season One featured in SFX MAGAZINE

9781474609081
£8.99 PB
Pub 22nd Feb

CATAPULT | Emily Fridlund

Catapult by Emily Fridlund will be reviewed on BBC R4 Saturday Review on 10th Feb

 

 

 

 

9781409172697
£20.00 HB
Pub 8th Feb

COMING SOON

LIVING THE LIFE MORE FABULOUS by Tricia Cusden

MAIL ON SUNDAY (21 Jan) – serialisation in new lifestyle supplement, LIFE
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING (March issue) – interview
SYLVA (TBC) – interview to tie-in with Oxford Lit Fest
WOMAN’S WAY (TBC) – interview
MY WEEKLY – (TBC) strong interest
GRANSNET (Feb TBC) – Facebook Live and book review
LOOSE WOMEN and LORRAINE (TBC)
BBC LONDON (TBC) – interview with Jo Good or Vanessa Feltz

9781409174530
£18.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

SATURDAY BLOODY SATURDAY | Alastair Campbell and Paul Fletcher

Interview in Major newspaper (confidential) (4 Feb)
CHANNEL 4’s SUNDAY BRUNCH (4 Feb)
BBC1’s BBC BREAKFAST (7 Feb)
TALK SPORT (7 Feb)
TALK RADIO (7 Feb)
BBC R2 Steve Wright in the Afternoon – (7 Feb)
TODAY WITH SEAN O’ROURKE (7 Feb)
SKY NEWS TONIGHT (8 Feb)
BBC RADIO 5 LIVE ADRIAN CHILES (9 Feb)
SOCCER AM (10 Feb)
ITV1’s ROBERT PESTON (11 Feb)
BBC RADIO 5 LIVE GARRY RICHARDSON SHOW

9781409176268
£12.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

HOW TO BREAK UP WITH YOUR PHONE | Catherine Price

DAILY MAIL (22nd and 29th January) serial, two extracts
DAILY TELEGRAPH (7th January) review in self-help books round-up for 2018
GUARDIAN WEEKEND MAGAZINE (27th January) book mention in Oliver Burkeman’s column
DAILY TELEGRAPH (date TBC – week of publication) full page feature on the book
MARIE CLAIRE (March issue, out in Feb) lead feature written by Pandora Sykes
ELLE (March issue, out in Feb) the book is the lead feature in an article on ‘Instragram Brain’
BBC FOCUS MAGAZINE (April issue, out in March) feature and review
THE POOL (31st January) article by Sali Hughes
THE SUN ONLINE (8th February) feature on the book
FINANCIAL TIMES PODCAST (9th February) an entire episode dedicated to the book
THE HIGH LOW with Dolly Alderton and Pandora Sykes (13th December) mention of the book
BBC WORLD SERVICE (6th February) interview
TALK RADIO EUROPE (26th February) interview

9781474605854
£14.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

RESTLESS SOULS | Dan Sheehan

‘At turns comedic, at turns literary, at turns thriller, at turns philosophical, it never stops being a page-turner’ Colum McCann

Guardian- Review confirmed (date tbc)
Observer- Review (22nd Jan) – ‘An enjoyable debut novel…. Sheehan adeptly pierces the nature of lasting friendship’
Daily Express- Review confirmed (date tbc)
Daily Mail – Review confirmed (date tbc)
Irish Sunday Times- Review (10th Feb)
Irish Sunday Independent- Review (date tbc)
Image Magazine -Review (February)
Gloss Magazine- Interview (February)
Woman’s Way- Review (22nd Jan)
Irish Examiner- Interview (debut slot)- Date tbc
Irish Country Magazine- Review (March issue)
RTE Radio 1, Arena- Interview (8th February)

9781474607087
£25.00 HB
Pub 22nd Feb

MAKING A NOISE | John Tusa

BBC RADIO SCOTLAND Sunday Morning With Richard Holloway (28 January) – interview
BBC NEWS CHANNEL MEET THE AUTHOR (22 February) – interview
BBC RADIO 4 THE TODAY PROGRAMME (24 February) – interview
THE OLDIE (January 2018) – ad for Literary Lunch event
DAILY MAIL WEEKEND (20 January) – ‘My View’ slot
DAILY MAIL (24 January) – diary mention
SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE (4 February) – news story
COUNTRY LIFE (date tbc) – My Favourite Painting slot
SUNDAY TELEGRAPH (date tbc) – Fame & Fortune slot
BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE (April issue) – review
THE JEWISH CHRONICLE (date tbc) – interview

9781409172260
£14.99 HB
Pub 8th Feb

WE OWN THE SKY | Luke Allnutt

GUARDIAN FAMILY – feature by Luke, 8th February
WOMEN’S WAY – interview with Luke, 8th February
THE SUN – review, 8th February
MY WEEKLY – review, 8th February
THE SUNDAY EXPRESS – review, 8th February
CLOSER – review, (date TBC)
NEWBOOKS – review and feature (date TBC)
PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH – review, 8th February
GRAZIA – review, (TBC)
MIRROR – review, (TBC)
THEN – review, (TBC)
OBSERVER – (TBC)
BBC RADIO FIVE LIVE PHIL WILLIAMS SHOW (TBC)
BLOG TOUR – with THE Facebook Book Club for 14 days (pre and post-publication)

9781409171911
£25.00 HB
Pub 2nd Nov

Out Now

THE HAIRY BIKERS’ MEDITERRANEAN ADVENTURE | The Hairy Bikers

Tie-in TV series from 4th January 2018 @ 8pm and repeated on Saturday at midday, 6 part series on BBC2

9781409172024
£12.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

FEAR | Dirk Kurbjuweit

The Most Reviewed Thriller of 2018 is NOW AVAILABLE

DAILY TELEGRAPH: “His real achievement, however, is in the artful arrangement of his experiences as a basis for reflections – on free will, marriage, parenthood and how the middle classes ‘other’ the poor and the damaged – that make the book as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping
BBC RADIO 4: OPEN BOOK: profile interview to run on 28th Jan
THE OBSERVER: major profile interview (14th Jan) – “The novels asks what happens when those support systems that we presume underpin our society fail us.  Tiberius is wonderfully sinister.. You’ll never see your neighbours in the same light again

9781474606516
£14.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

FROM HERE TO ETERNITY by Caitlin Doughty

“From Indonesia to Mexico and all points in between, Doughty talks to a wide array of professionals, handling the topic with curiosity, frankness and no small amount of humour.” Big Issue

Press Association and I Paper – reviews
FROM HERE TO ETERNITY by CAITLIN DOUGHTY was reviewed in MAIL ON SUNDAY EVENT – “fascinating, thought-provoking and – who would have guessed? – sometimes funny. Put it on your bucket list.”
THE SUNDAY TIMES TRAVEL MAGAZINE also ran a short feature of some of the world practices featured in the book with a credit
IRISH TIMES (date tbc on pub) – review
CATHOLIC HERALD (date tbc on pub) – review
TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT (date tbc on pub) – review
NME (26th January) – inclusion on Things We Like page
WANDERLUST (February issue) – review “A study in cultures, places and profound moments – and with a necessary slice of morbid humour too
GEOGRAPHICAL (February issue, out mid-January) – review: “Written with great humour and respect, this book will undoubtedly educate, entertain, and leave you dying to learn more.
THE POOL (date tbc on pub) – Long Read article by Caitlin about how women a reclaiming the funeral industry

9781474601511
£16.99 HB
Pub 25th Jan

HEAL ME by Julia Buckley

‘Truly fascinating . . . a searingly honest first-hand account of Buckley’s journey, both spiritual and physical, and an insightful, deeply researched story of pain from the multiple perspectives of medical science, psychology and faith. An absolute must-read on the subject, what’s laid bare here about our understanding of and attitudes to chronic pain is alternatively sobering and inflammatory’ THE INDEPENDENT

DAILY TELEGRAPH (27 Jan) – 2-page spread in Saturday supplement online here
GRAZIA (30 Jan) – feature
EVENING STANDARD (week of 29 Jan, date tbc) – launching a campaign on pain medication linked to the book
THE SUNDAY TIMES (4 Feb) – 1-page travel feature
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELLER (out 7 Feb) – full-page feature
SUNDAY EXPRESS, S MAGAZINE (11 Feb) – 4-page feature
CORNWALL TODAY (out mid-Feb) – 4-page feature
I PAPER (date tbc) – 2-page feature
SKY NEWS, SUNRISE (30 Jan) – interview
WOMAN’S HOUR, BBC RADIO 4 (22 Jan) – interview online here
5 LIVE DAILY, BBC RADIO 5 LIVE (29 Jan) – interview online here
TALK RADIO EUROPE (22 Jan) – interview online here
BBC RADIO CORNWALL (20 Jan) – interview
INDEPENDENT (25 Jan) – opinion piece online here
INDEPENDENT (28 Jan) – extract online here
MAIL ONLINE (w/c 29 Jan – date tbc) – interview
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS TIMES (week of 29 Jan, date tbc) – interview
LONDON MARATHON official podcast (w/c 22 Jan) – interview

REVIEWS ETC.

MADELEINE SHAW will be on this weekend’s SUNDAY BRUNCH (3rd Feb) on CHANNEL 4 cooking a couple of breakfast recipes from READY STEADY GLOW

BETTANY HUGHES had an article in SUNDAY TIMES Travel section about Greece with credit for ISTANBUL

COMING HOME TO ISLAND HOUSE by ERICA JAMES was reviewed in S MAGAZINE

‘Erica James offers glorious escapism set in a house to die for. A sweepingly dynastic and satisfying end’ 

ELLE CROFT’s short story, The Visitor ran in S MAGAZINE  on Sunday with a credit for THE GUILTY WIFE

THE CHILD FINDER by RENE DENFELD was reviewed in the FINANCIAL TIMES and THE OBSERVER

HERE COMES TROUBLE by SIMON WROE was reviewed in THE OBSERVER on Sunday

ROBICHEAUX by JAMES LEE BURKE received a fantastic review in DAILY MAIL on Friday: ‘an epic story of greed, lust and power told with consummate skill

ELYSIUM FIRE by ALASTAIR REYNOLDS was reviewed in SFX, ‘Reynolds has not only rise to the challenge but upped the ante’ 

SFX books special issue had 24 PAGES of Gollancz coverage, featured interviews and features with RICHARD MORGAN (ALTERED CARBON), CHARLAINE HARRIS (THE COMPLETE SOOKIE STACKHOUSE SERIES), C ROBERT CARGILL (SEA OF RUST), JOE HILL (STRANGE WEATHER), DHONIELLE CLAYTON (THE BELLES), ADAM ROBERTS (THE REAL-TOWN MURDERS), PAT CADIGAN (SYNNERS), ALIETTE DE BODARD (THE HOUSE OF BINDING THORNS), ALASTAIR REYNOLDS (ELYSIUM FIRE), EMMA NEWMAN (PLANETFALL), PAUL MCAULEY (AUSTRAL), MICHAEL MOORCOCK (THE WHISPERING SWARM), JUSTINA ROBSON (THE SWITCH) and a piece from Gillian Redfearn representing Gollancz on how to write and publish Sci-Fi and fantasy