Bitter

Bitter

How far will a mother go to win back the son she walked out on?
A darkly compelling novel perfect for fans of Zoe Heller, Harriet Lane and Louise Doughty.

IT’S 1969, and while the summer of love lingers in London, Gilda is consumed by the mistakes of her past. She walked out on her beloved son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he’ll never forgive her. Yet she hopes desperately they can mend their shattered relationship.

When Reuben marries a petite blonde gentile, Gilda takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love – a love she’s craved his entire adult life. What does his new wife have that she doesn’t? It’s an obsession that will bring shocking truths about the past to light . . .

BITTER is a beautiful and devastating novel about the decisions that define our lives, the fragility of love and the bond between mother and son.

  • ISBN: 9781474607568
  • Publication Date:
  • Page Count: 352

More Key Titles